About the Commission

The role of the Ohio Lake Erie Commission (OLEC) is to preserve Lake Erie’s natural resources, to protect the quality of its waters and ecosystem, and to promote economic development of the region by ensuring the coordination of policies and programs of state government pertaining to water quality, toxic substances, and coastal resource management. The Commission also oversees the management of the Lake Erie Protection Fund. Authority for the Commission is contained in ORC Sections 1506.21-1506.24.

The Ohio Lake Erie Commission staff advises the Governor and the Commission on the development, implementation, and coordination of Lake Erie programs and policies; provides representation of the interests of Ohio in regional, national, and international forums pertaining to the resources of the Great Lakes; assists in the implementation of the Coastal Zone Management Program and the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative; facilitates compliance with the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement and the Great Lakes Toxic Substances Control Agreement; and manages the distribution of money from the Lake Erie Protection Fund.


Joy Mulinex, Executive Director

Laurie A. Stevenson, Director, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency

Jack Marchbanks, Director, Ohio Department of Transportation

Mary Mertz, Director, Ohio Department of Natural Resources

Lydia Mihalik, Director, Ohio Development Services Agency

Lance Himes, Interim Director, Ohio Department of Health

Dorothy Pelanda, Director, Ohio Department of Agriculture

J. Kevin Cogan, Retired

Amanda Bryant-Friedrich, Interim Dean, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at The University of Toledo

Bill Wolf, The Andersons, Retired

Jim Stouffer, President and CEO, Catawba Cleveland Development

Richard Hylant, Ex-Officio, President, Hylant

Kate Bartter, Ex-Officio, Director, Sustainability Institute, The Ohio State University